How to Certify

The Washington Mediation Association’s Mediator Certification Program for WMA Members


Now that WMA is several years into its certification program, we have become more confident than ever that establishing mediator practitioner qualifications and certification are important steps in gaining wider acceptance of mediation among the courts and other professions in our state.

In order to honor the diverse mediation backgrounds of applicants, WMA provides several ways to satisfy qualification requirements. For example, we offer three options to satisfy the experience requirement. Should you have any questions about meeting the qualifications or providing documentation, we encourage you to contact the WMA Certifications and Qualifications Committee at

WMA membership is open to all interested people. While we strongly encourage mediators to pursue certification, it is not a requirement for general membership. Please see the WMA web tab called “Join WMA” for membership information.

WMA Certification Application Packet

For a detailed description of the certification process, download the Rev 1-28-15 WMA Certified Member Mediator Application. This packet contains instructions about the process and an explanation of the qualification requirements.


  • Membership in WMA
  • Dues must be current

Basic Mediation Training

Applicants must have at least 36 hours of basic mediation training.

Mediation Experience

A. Applicants must have at least 200 hours of mediation experience and a letter of recommendation, OR

B. Have at least 24 hours of approved supervised mediation through a WMA-approved practicum program and a minimum of 36 hours of additional, post-practicum mediation, OR

C. Complete the equivalent of option A or B in another state and submit a letter of recommendation.

Other Experience or Study – Areas of Specialization or Categories of Practice

As of January, 2015, the WMA is no longer accepting original or renewing applications for Areas of Specialization designation. Your certification will be renewed [or accepted] under “General” classification only. Any Areas of Specialization that you have claimed have been replaced by a system that allows mediators to describe their practice in searchable terms the public can use to find the mediator they need. We feel that this will allow mediators to more accurately and thoroughly represent their practice to the community. We appreciate your understanding and patience during this recent time of transition with respect to Areas of Specialization.”

Liability Insurance

WMA strongly recommends that certified mediators, unless mediating solely as a volunteer for a Washington DRC or the government, secure liability insurance. WMA has secured group professional liability coverage which may be purchased by WMA members.

Standards of Practice

Certified Mediators must adhere to WMA’s Standards of Practice for Mediators and comply with the grievance policy.

Continuing Education

To maintain certification, 20 hours of mediator continuing education and 12 hours of mediation experience are required every two years. Reference the “Renewal” page under the “Certification” tab for additional information.

Documentation and Additional Resources

If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer, you may download it for free from


For a detailed description of the certification process, download the Rev 1-28-15 WMA Certified Member Mediator Application. You can submit your materials electronically via Mail the fees and the signed and notarized “Affidavit of Compliance” (page 3 of the WMA Certification Application Packet) to the address below. We suggest that you keep a full copy of your application for your records.

1122 E. Pike St.
PMB #1095
Seattle, WA 98122-3934


Information is available on the WMA “Mediator Certification” tab, “Fees” page.


Comments are closed.

Newsletter Archive